Bottle lid letters

If you spot the mistake on the letter sheet – well done! My excuse it was 10pm and I’d had a glass of wine before making it! Made a new one now!

It’s taken a while to collect resources needed for this but worth it as we have had so much fun and it is such a flexible resource that it can be used over and over again!

Just before Christmas we bought some number and letter paint sponges from Morrison’s for about Β£2. They’ve been brilliant. One night I sat and sponged numbers 1-10, all the letters of the alphabet and the kids name on paper and laminated it.  We have also been collecting the plastic lids of milk cartons (or similar sized lids). I’ve now had enough to write the alphabet on twice – one per letter. I’ve used a permanent marker to write on the lids. I will be doing another couple of sets of letters, and will also do numbers 0-9 and a set of uppercase letters when I’ve collected more lids.

image

We had a good hour of fun matching the lids to the letters on the laminated sheet, and Harrison was so pleased that he could do it. Alex just had plenty of fun putting them in a jar and tipping them back out again, but you know, its fine motor skills and all that πŸ™‚ . It could also give opportunities for talking about colour as the lids are all different colours.

What I love about this is that it something that can be used again and again. It is great for toddlers of Harrison’s age (2.5y) for simple letter and name recognition, for preschoolers to learn CVC words,  and for key stage one and two aged children for spelling practise and games.

Get collecting bottle lids!!

4 thoughts on “Bottle lid letters

  1. I think this is a lovely idea. Im going to try get hold of some large foam number sticker or as you some number sponges and have a go with my minded children. I will also be trying this with my youngest son once hes old enough (he will enjoy filling and tipping the lids now though πŸ™‚ )

Leave a Reply

